This weekend was a busy one, but in the fun way, not the getting-stuff-done way. I spent the majority of it in the city, being social and enjoying the still-sunny weather. It rained all day Friday while I was at work, but it let up by 6 when I left so I ventured out to Casanova Lounge in the Mission. I happily drank draft PBR and made fun of greasy hipsters like the Jack White wannabe. We took transit and stayed in the Sunset with friends so there would be no misadventures trying to get back to Alameda. I experienced Underdog for the first time the next morning, where I tried a Veggie Bratwurst; good, but I might go for the meaty one next time. I was able to meet up with my little sis the next day, and we headed back to the Mission. We did some thrifting, and I hit up one of my new favorite coffee shops, Ritual Roasters on Valencia. I hadn’t noticed the first time, but they have TONS of vegan pastries (like a huge selection of loaf breads). And of course, delicious macchiatos. I had some luck at Fabric Outlet with possible supplies for my Halloween costume and some buttons for my Mrs. Darcy cardigan. The buttons are a little big so I might get something else, but it’s taking forever to dry from blocking.

I headed back to my house after being away for over 24 hours. After a relaxing evening and sleeping in on Sunday morning, a friend said she was going to Japantown, which I can never pass up. We of course went to Ichiban Kan, the Japanese discount chain where useful (or not-so-useful) adorable items always find their way into my basket. After some udon and Japanese style pizza, we walked up Fillmore in Pacific Heights. I had a perfectly acceptable cappuccino at Bittersweet, ogled the gorgeous little cakes and cookies, and made mental notes on which hot chocolate to try next time. After an hour of indecision, we finally met up with James at the Embarcadero and saw Wes Anderson’s new film, The Darjeeling Limited. I enjoyed it a great deal, but I don’t think it beats The Royal Tenenbaums. Then we finally headed home to resting and knitting. It was an excellent weekend, and I don’t even think I spent to much money. Hopefully. The Hello Yarn shop update today might have changed that…