I have a new friend!

I found him at Maido in SF yesterday, while I was shopping for stuff for my KVVS pal.  I found some stuff for her too that she is just gonna love.  I tried going to Artfibers for yarn, but they are only open from 2-4pm on Sundays, and I was too early.  I did get myself to Imagiknit though…I hadn’t been there in ages.  I bought a yellow ball of Plymouth Encore for the color bar blanket (if I just buy 10 different colors one at a time it won’t seem as bad), and an awesome green skein of Colinette Jitterbug sock yarn, which I had never seen before.  Yarn and tiny Japanese goodies makes for a great shopping haul.

I also spun a little more of this dark brown corriedale I got awhile ago.  It’s really hairy and not very soft, but I think it’s really good for practicing on.  I hadn’t spun for about a month.  Maybe I should start doing Spinning ___days like some bloggers.  I’m not going to get very far if I hardly ever do it.  The good news is, I was deviating a little from the park & draft technique, and actually managing to draft a bit while the spindle was going.  I am trying to spin this stuff somewhat thin, so I can try plying with it.  I keep seeing people doing awesome things with their spindles, and I want to be able to do some lovely hand-painted roving justice.

I’m really grateful to be getting paid for sitting in this office at UC Berkeley and doing next-to-nothing, but something about it is giving me horrible headaches.  I have been getting them more often even outside of work.  This a problem that plagues my mother so I know it’s something I’m going to have to live with.  I really think I should get some yoga videos or something (since I can’t afford to go to classes regularly) because I really hate taking (increasingly strong) painkillers every single day.  I think today’s dose is finally kicking in, though.

