Well, you’d think with a whole week of not working that I might have time to blog.   I guess I’ve been distracted though, consumed with searching out some form of employment.  No good news from the temp agency, but I’ve been combing craigslist for options and I actually managed to land an interview for Monday!  I also have visited my preferred Alameda coffee spots and today I talked with the managers at my favorite one.  I feel that things went well, but I don’t want to jump to conclusions.  That would only be a few hours a week, but some cash flow is better than none.  And it’s clearly the best coffee place in Alameda, so it would be a dream come true.

I’ve also been lazy about blogging because I’ve been lazy about taking pictures.  But I got my act together, so let’s talk about socks.

I finished my Charades!  They were done on Saturday, so they took just over three weeks.  I’m happy they are done and they are very comfortable!  Officially my first pair of socks just for me.

Pattern: Charade
Yarn: Hello Yarn Tough Sock, in Swiftly
Needles: 2.5mm KP dpns
Mods: minor sizing changes, like lengthening the heel flap and foot.

 After completing the Charades, I started my mom’s Wyverns.  Since I took this picture, I’ve actually finished the first sock.  It wasn’t easy, though.  The toe and the foot were easy enough.  It was my first time doing a short row toe, which turned out ok after a few tries.  I want my joins where the wraps were to look really neat.  However, this came to be a problem when I got to the heel.  The bottom of the foot and the heel are in ribbing.  I could have changed it to stockinette, but I really liked the look of the ribbing.  The wrapping method linked to from the article didn’t really do it for me on the ribbing.  So I looked up some others, and ripped out at least 3 or 4 times before I finally settled on this one.  The result isn’t perfect, but it’s ok for now.  I finished up the ankle-length cuff and bound off.  The bind off looks really nice, but I’m concerned it could be slightly too tight.  But these socks are a little small for me, cuz they’re for my mom.  Maybe I will use the sewn bind off on the next one, and if it’s world’s better, I’ll redo the first one.

After this one-sock experience, though, I’ve gotta say, I don’t think short-row toes and heels are for me.  Well, the toe is ok, and I might use that again, but I’m not that thrilled with the heel, and for reasons beyond the ribbing and wrap problem.  But I’m trying something new.  For now, I still prefer cuff-down, heel flap socks.

I also joined Mystery Stole 3, but I’ll talk more about than when I’m a bit more caught up.  I’ve only finished Clue 1 (I did start late), and Clue 4 was released today.  Good thing we have two weeks for this one!  Hopefully I can get on track.

