I finished my spiral rib hat with Kyoto! I was mainly making this up as I went, trying to manage to have enough yarn for a decent hat. What I should have done is started at the crown and increased down, but I never make hats that way, so I started from the bottom. I did spiral ribbing until I was getting nervous about having enough yarn for the decreases. I finished the crown and still had some yarn to spare. I thought about ripping out the decreases to make the hat longer (so it would be more slouchy), but instead I picked up stitches around the cast on edge and worked a 1×1 twisted rib with a smaller needle, because I didn’t really like how unstable the bottom was. I still have a little yarn left, which I think I will just admire, because this stuff has to be seen to be believed.

Pattern: made up, with some inspiration from here…basically just a 2×2 spiral rib
Yarn: Artfibers Kyoto, color 26
Needles: US 10 16″ circs and US7 16″ circs (for the ribbing)

The hat came out ever so slouchy, which I like. The spiral rib looks almost like cabling in this yarn. But the thing that really gets you is the depth of color. The saturated color in the silk is just incredible. The stitches are defined, but the mohair helps soften it up with a fuzzy halo. I’ll be interested to see how this yarn wears, because I would seriously consider making a cardigan out of it. It’s so pretty!

In other news, I finally took a picture of my first handspun yarn, which I did a few weeks ago. Regretfully, I haven’t spun again since then, mainly because I have been really into knitting Clementine (I am now halfway done with the straight section of the second half!) and doing a little sewing. It gets hard to divide up my time. But here it is, in all of its feeble glory.

This is the corriedale wool that I ordered as a spindle kit from Hello Yarn, with the Louet top whorl spindle.  That random strand of not-fuschia yarn was the pre-drafted sample that Adrian includes with the kit to get you started.  I actually seemed to be decent at joining.  I’m not so great at drafting, especially as I was trying to move beyond park & draft, but I guess I just need more practice.  I definitely understand the concept now, I just don’t feel like I’m doing it very well.  I have more of this pink stuff, and I’ve also acquired fiber from two other sources.  Hopefully this weekend I will be able to do some more.  I’d really like to get better.

Tonight is the US Air Guitar Championships at The Independent.  Yes, I am going.  Yes, it is going to be awesome.

