I’m known to be indecisive, but never have I changed my mind so many time after starting something. At the very least, I typically persevere, and try to let whatever it is I have fallen out of love with organically grow and change and improve. But something about this idea just couldn’t be like that.

Months ago I decided to make my Grandma a shawl. A lace shawl. Inspired by Victorian Lace Today, I knew there had to be a pattern in there that was perfect. I thought I found it. More than once. I pored over the pictures and changed my mind a dozen times while working on Victorian Ruby. I thought Alpine Lace was “it”. But just before it was time to cast on, I found a hidden gem: Victoria. I cast on and worked a few repeats while on vacation in April. It languished a little. I wasn’t loving it.

And then, I saw Ene’s scarf in my new copy of Scarf Style. Love at first sight. I wanted to drop everything and make this for myself. But I refuse to have two lace shawls happening at the same time (unlike sweaters…). But wait! This could be Grandma’s shawl. And then I will see how beautiful it truly is and make for myself in a few months.

I cast on and worked my way through a few of the first long rows. Maybe if I had made it through chart 1, I would have stuck with it. But I put that project down for a few weeks in favor of other things. I felt a little guilty, but told myself “after I finish ____”, I’ll get back to it. I looked forward to it. I knew I had time to spare, because it’s the beginning of summer, and who needs a lace shawl in the middle of summer?

Having finished the knitting on Hot Lava, I thought it was time to get back to it. But then, along came Ravelry. While browsing patterns at work last week, I came across the Clementine Shawlette, from IK Spring 2007. I had liked this pattern, but never thought too much of it. I saw some nice ones on Ravelry. It looked so pretty in other colors. Wouldn’t that make a nice shawl for Grandma?

So I frogged my humble beginnings of Ene. Clementine is easy to get into, because that first little handle goes so quickly. I got halfway through the chart B increases on the first night. After last night, I’m establishing the main body. I’m already to a nice, memorized rhythm that doesn’t require constant chart consultations. I could tuck it in my bag and take it with me. I could stop and start in the middle of a row. It’s both interesting and mundane. It’s perfect. And this time, I really mean it.

