since i’ve finished clapotis i’ve been busy. my main project after that was over was finally finished amy’s plain jane slippers. one had been completely awhile ago (like, when she first requested them) but i hadn’t made the other. in the meantime she had also found the buttons she wanted so i really had no more excuses. i finished the slipper and then sewed the buttons on the other night when she was at my house. she likes them quite a lot.

i also took pictures of the short ‘n sweet bolero thing from snb happy hooker that i was making to go with my graduation dress. i didn’t finish it in time for my own graduation (just one more sleeve!) but it was ok because i would have been too hot anyway. i was, however, wearing it at james’ graduation.

click for better shots of the lace!

and lastly, with some of the leftover cascade from the slippers, i made my first kitty weed cat toy. it’s a present for brian and his kitties. but i want to make 2 more first (they have three kitties).

my new wip? i am on my third different lace pattern with my burnt orange knit picks andean treasure. i was doing this one madeira lace but i didn’t really like how it was coming out…i think i need to try that pattern with actual lace weight yarn. i tried another that i frogged pretty quickly, and right now i have settled on just a basic feather and fan. i think i will stick with this. knit picks has a shawl made out of andean treasure in that pattern and i like the way it looks so i think it will be nice. i think my needle size was a bit too big too for it to look right. i was using 7s, but this calls for 5s. hopefully it will turn out nicely.

someone on one of the knitting communities on livejournal just pleasantly reminded everyone that xmas presents must be started! i wasn’t even thinking of starting this early…i have some ideas for people but nothing to show for it…but i started thinking about it and i will be in europe with limited access to patterns, yarn, etc for two months this fall, so maybe i should be getting started! i will obviously bring one or two longer projects with me if i can fit the yarn in my bag but i guess i’d better be getting on the ball. dang.

