What is it about summer that compels me to join swaps? Last summer there was the Ravelry Caffeine Addicts Swap and the Knitter’s Virtual Vacation Swap. Those were fun, but I seemed to be sated…that is, until recently.

The Ravelry Fiber Swap is 3 months long, with three other partners, so it’s almost like 3 swaps in one. So far it’s been a ton of fun. I got my July package from Ravelry user ambergem.

There is 4 oz. of hand-dyed merino/linen roving. I’m slightly intimidated but very excited to see how this spins! It will probably marinate for awhile, but I am looking forward to trying it. She also sent a little superwash merino (burgundy) and some mohair locks (green). I love it!

I have pictures of what I sent for July but I keep forgetting to upload them to flickr.

I have a few other dyed fibers, but so far my attempts to photograph them haven’t gone very well. They’re red, and one of them is targhee wool which is so fluffy that the camera doesn’t want to focus.

Soon there will be more dyeing for the August installment of Fiber Swap. I know what I want to do, it’s just finding the time that is proving difficult.

The other swap I joined last week is put on by the Spunky Eclectic group on Ravelry. This is one of the chattiest groups EVER, and one of the mods decided it would be fun to do a swap. Luckily we don’t send until the end of the September, but we’re sending both fiber AND handspun, as well as goodies and extras, so I can’t procrastinate too much. In this swap the only secrets are what we are actually sending – we know who our partners are and hopefully we get to know them over the course of the swap. It should be fun! I don’t know if I will be dyeing for this. I am hoping to go to the California Wool and Fiber Festival in September and I want to try and get the unspun fiber there.

This is the 1oz. of dyed alpaca I showed you last time, spun into a worsted weight 2-ply. Spinning from the fold was pretty tricky, because the alpaca is very slippery, but for a first try, I’m happy with how it came out. More than anything, I love how soft it is. It’s only 50-something yards, but I think I might use it as an accent in a hat.

This spinning is a little more recent. I finally got brave and tacked some Wensleydale I purchased from Hello Yarn awhile ago. It definitely came out a bit fuzzy (they call Wensleydale “the sheep’s answer to mohair”) but relatively soft. I’m a little nervous about using it for a hat or a scarf, but we’ll see…maybe another idea will strike. It’s around a DK weight. I haven’t counted the yardage yet. I’m loving the colors though. The greens/teals you can see in the roving have kind of dissipated, but I think they’ll show a bit more when knitted up.

In knitting news, I’m trying to work through a few very late gifts, and I recently finished knitting Talia. I still need to weave in ends, block it, and find buttons. Buttons are the hardest. Maybe I’ll take my chances and order online. Life is just too busy these days for button shopping.

