Mrs. Darcy is completely finished!  This is the first sweater I’ve managed to take modeled photos of, too.  It involved precariously perching my camera on a ledge, but I think they turned out pretty well.  Not a huge variety of shots, but it’s better than nothing!

I am really happy with how it turned out.  The buttons are some pretty generic ones that I picked up at Fabric Outlet.  I’ve since found some button retailers (recommended on the Bay Area Ravelry group), so if I find better ones in the future I may switch them out.  For now, though, I like that they match the red tweedy flecks.

The yarn is Beaverslide Fisherman weight wool.  It felt fairly soft while knitting, but it’s even better after washing/blocking.  I had 4 skeins of this, and I thought I might cut it close, but I have over a whole skein left!  Of course, this sweater doesn’t have a lot of coverage in the front, so it uses less yarn than one would expect.  The design works out perfectly for the Northern California climate, though.  You really never need a big wool sweater that covers everything, especially in a bulky gauge.  Not like that will deter me in the future…

I finished the knitting at the beginning of September, and I had the body seamed up, but it took me a month to tackle the sleeves.  They really weren’t as bad as I thought, and I like how they came out.  I like top down sweaters, but I also like knitting in pieces.  I really don’t mind seaming (the magic of mattress stitch still amazes me), and it can be very satisfying to bind off a piece in the middle of the project, instead of have endless stockinette until the entire body is done.  I think both methods have their merits.

This sweater is versatile and comfortable.  It’s awesome for the days I am stuck in the temperature controlled warehouse at work.  Usually I wear a scarf and I’m still cold, but with this sweater I stay toasty all day.

I’ve been mainly knitting smaller things the past few weeks, and I picked up MS3 again.  I’m almost done with clue 5.  I’m trying to mentally gear up for NaKniSweMo.  It would be awesome to have another cardigan done before December.  It’s going to take perseverance to completely finish a sweater in a month, but I think it’s good motivation.  Who else is doing it?  What do you have planned?  If you’re on Ravelry, there is a NaKniSweMo knitalong!

